Skip to content

RCMP:The Medical Discharge Process – what you’re not being told and what you need to know

Dec 18

As regulations are now being drafted to enforce The Enhancing RCMP Accountability Act, there exists a strong possibility that members who are currently off duty sick for an extended period of time will be medically discharged.  RCMP Discharge and Graduated Return to Work Coordinators are perhaps not getting the best and most current information when advising members about what they could and should be applying for when being medically discharged from the Force.
Members first of all need to know that even if they are currently in recent of an award from Veterans Affairs Canada, (VAC), they may be entitled to the Great West Life Disability Insurance offered by the Force.  Members have previously been discouraged from applying for this insurance because they were already in recent of a monthly VAC pension or told it would most likely be clawed back even if they did apply and qualified for this insurance.
A similar insurance program exists for the Canadian Forces called the Service Income Security Income Plan, (SISIP).
The law firm McInnes Cooper recently represented military veterans in a class action lawsuit against the federal government where 900 million dollars was awarded to some 8000 veterans and the clawback of SISIP benefits was found to be unlawful.  This same law firm is now undertaking a class action lawsuit to recover the clawback of RCMP veterans’ Great West Life disability payments as SISIP and GWL disability plans are believed to be essentially the same.  To join the class action suit please send an email to RCMP-Ltdclassaction@mcinnescooper.com.  Lead counsel on this case, Mr. Peter Driscoll, is confident this class action mirrors the successful litigation he just conducted for the Canadian Forces.
In speaking with Veteran Affairs Canada liaison for the RCMP, Sgt. Brad Chugg, he advised that he has heard about several cases where Graduated Return to Work/Discharge Coordinators, gave poor advice to members about applying for Great West Life disability benefits based on VAC awards already present for the members they were dealing with.  I know that’s exactly the advice I received when I left the Force.  Now, given the prospect that any clawback of benefits will become a non-issue given the pending litigation, members should apply for the GWL Disability Insurance as soon as they become medically discharged as they only have 31 days to do so in order for their claim to be accepted.
Sgt. Chugg advised that Staff Relations Representatives are aware of this issue and hopefully working on educating GRW and Discharge coordinators and members alike about procedures to follow.  As I am no longer in the RCMP workplace, I cannot tell you whether this is actually happening or not, thus this article.
As far as members like myself who were given incorrect information, it would appear that Great West Life can deny any payments as we did not apply for benefits within the 31 day period.  If we are not able to apply for benefits now, retroactively, we cannot become part of the class action suit.  I have attempted to reach Mr. Ryan Dodds, the Great West Life contact for the RCMP at (613) 843-5978 but have not received a return call after two weeks of waiting for one.  Perhaps those of you that call him will have better luck.

Rob Creasser
Media Liaison
Mounted Police Professional Association of Canada

43 Comments
  1. DJ Motorcop permalink

    When I was medicaly discharged I did not meet with nor was I given advice by any representative of the RCMP in fact 90 days before my discharge date I was contacted by compensation branch and asked why I had not submitted my “papers” I did not apply for CPP disability because I did not know that was an option, I have since applied 19 months after my discharge. I was told that great west was not an option because my VAC and my pension combined equaled the 75% cap of great west. So I missed the 31 day dead line. I had to drive down to Halifax with my wife and spend the afternoon with compensation staff and fill lout all my paper work and elections on insurance and coverage. The RCMP REFUSED TO PAY THE MILEAGE, claiming that the trip was not necessary yet if I had failed to do so and done it by mail I would have gone months without my pension cheques etc. I did not offer any argument I just shook my head at the practices in it’s dealings with members. The RCMP could not get rid of me fast enough and their lack of diligence and care towards this member who was voluntarily taking a medical discharge and in the grips of PTSD is nothing short of negligent. Members first is pure bullshit, the true slogan is “Force first fuck the member,” I do not even know the name of the person in J Div on the medical discharge work return program, I never ever met him/her. Good job Paulson.

    • Anonymous permalink

      Totally understand DJ Motorcop. While I was leaving the force, (with PTSD), for a new job after being hammered by a fictitious investigation that I was ‘clear of’, any ‘exiting’ materials and excercises were for me to figure out, and if I didn’t, oh well ‘the fuck with me’. was the attitude of the royal Canadian mounted perpetrators. I got nothing, no assistance, not even consideration of VAC pension for the ptsd (for other reasons now, am not sure I can substantiate that it was created working for the farce), and nothing less than disparagement from these useless spineless pissants.

      • DJ Motorcop permalink

        Anon if you get into therapy and treatment and you can relate your condition as caused by or aggravated by your RCMP service then you will qualify for a pension. I have friends who left the force years ago who are only now applying for a pension based in injuries from on duty accidents, and or as well psychological conditions. You just need the medical backing to win an award. Do not give up. We are so lucky the Farce is no longer with us!

      • Anonymous permalink

        Thanks DJ Motorcop, I will look into it. I thought after a certain period that I wouldn’t have the opp but I will certain look into this. Cheers.

  2. Rob permalink

    Here is the link to download the forms for the Great West Life Disability Insurance. https://www.pbs-sra.ca/en/modules/_forms/all/dis_claim.pdf.
    As far as not getting proper information at the time of medical discharge and what to do about it, I was attempting to contact Mr. Ryan Dodds, the Great West Life liaison for the RCMP. I have provided his number above in the article. So far I have not received a call from him but I hope others, who find themselves in my situation, will call him and at some point in time, (if the guy wants to keep his job), he will have to get back to someone and answer some difficult questions.
    I see that others that are replying to this post are also asking about CPP disability benefits. I believe we do qualify but know very little about how it works. I think it becomes “a second payer” after GWL Disability, if you get GWL. These too would be good questions to ask Mr. Dodds.
    One final point. CPP Disability is different from GWL Disability. Even if you are getting a VAC pension for injuries, you may also apply to these other disability coverages. Good Luck and Merry Christmas!

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      CPP disability is a benefit that stands alone, you need only have contributed to CPP for at least 25 years. You also need to meet the criteria of not being able to work due to any medical or psychological reason. If you are awarded a CPP disability pension it is $1150. per month you will have a clawback from your RCMP pension based on your years of service equal to what the claw back would be at age 65. At age 65 your pension will revert to a normal CPP retirement pension. Great a West LIFE will claw back any amount you get from CPP. Great West is set up as such, that many members going out on medical discharge with a VAC pension and a CPP disability pension will far exceed the 75% of RCMP base salary that they guarantee. I have friends who signed on with them, and actually get a check for zero dollars and zero cents and yet must submit medical documents to keep receiving this silly check. They jump through the hoops in the hopes that Great West will have to pay them their 75% above and beyond all other monies if the current law suit succeeds. I for one played enough silly games and chose not to pursue a Great West but instead have applied for the CPP Disability pension. I had lunch today with a 27 year veteran who is being medically discharged on Jan 28th and is receiving CPP disability and has been the past two years while ODS, the member in question was at HQ last week, and guess what – none of the members paper work had been submitted to Morneau Chepelle and so the member was stuck there for three hours to get all the paper work done up. Because once again Paulson’s heroes failed to ensure that an ODS member was being properly discharged. Makes one want to put on the Red a Serge and light one up….except someone might mistake me for a Paulsonite and that just will not do.

      IF YOU ARE ODS THEN APPLY NOW FOR CPP, do not pass go do not collect 200 dollars just get it done!

    • Anonymous permalink

      Thank you Rob for taking taking the time to explain this. Much appreciated and will download the form ASAP.

  3. DJ Motorcop permalink

    You can go online to Servicecanada.ca to learn more and as well call toll free end speak to a CPP advisor who will give you all the information you need to apply. They will even give you the formula to compute the amount of your clawback. Do not let an employee of a Great West advise you on any natters, seek the advice of a CPP representative, they work for us.

  4. Anonymous permalink

    Does anyone know what the retraining entitlements are under Medical discharge?

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      I was offered up to a one year course, but I was unable to psychologically take part in any training. I also had 36 years combined service and not looking to retrain just heal, leave and live. Those with youth and ability on their side will be able to take advantage of any such offers.

  5. Anonymous permalink

    Thanks DJ, were there any other provisions?

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      The criteria for CPP disability is the injury/condition must prevent you from be able to work and it must be permanent. I am in the midst of my application and received a letter stating that they are now contacting my old psychiatrist for his input and my current psychologist for clarification. I am 57 years old so if I am turned down and have to wait, it is only 3 years until I can draw regular CPP with no clawback until age 65. I will post here if and when I hear the decision and the reasoning behind it. You all may want to check out the Facebook group Families of the RCMP for PTSD awareness!

  6. DJ Motorcop permalink

    Oh you mean provisions for training no it was never explained to he as I was not a suitable candidate, it is a bit of an oxymoron as if you have to be medically discharged how can you be well enough to go to school? If you can be re trained then why not for a career within the force? As a medically discharged member you can later apply for any Gov’t job and you get first preference for any spot you qualify. These are all things I found out by asking questions, which begs the question……Why do we have to beg for this information if the RCMP is so hot and horny to discard us why are they not putti g together an informative complete guide for members to educate the self. Perhaps they will form a roll out study group and after two years launch a new program with promotions all around for those who shuffled papers and stapled the p,an together?

  7. Buck permalink

    We are like oranges, once we have had all the juice squeezed out of us, without a drop left to give. We are to be discarded, without any further consideration. Out the PC window and left on the side of the road.

  8. Anonymous permalink

    I actually meant broader provisions other than training.

    Thanks for all your clarification on this by the way.

    By my count CMD benefits include 1) immediate indexing of pension 2) VAC 3) GWL top up to 75% of salary 4) CPP disability and 5) retraining.

    Is there anything else that anyone knows of.

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      Yes, but bear in mind that if your RCMP pension ,combined with any other sources of income, equals or exceeds the 75% then GWL will pay you nothing. Some members elected to sign on and become accountable to GWL in the hopes that a law suit similar to the armed forces suit is undertaken and won . If you are ODS now and unable to work you should have applied for a VAC pension and CPP disability both of which you can receive, if you qualify, while ODS even though the RCMP is paying you. If you return to work, any work at all, at any time you will lose your CPP disability. The VAC however is a tax free no strings attached pension which you can receive even while working. Is it not sad that we are exchanging this information on this site as opposed to our amazing Farce not having all of this in an understandable readily available package? Good job Paulson………

      • Anonymous permalink

        An absolute travesty……

  9. DJ Motorcop permalink

    Before you put boot to arse and kick members out into the cold, should you not at least open the door?

  10. Buck permalink

    The RCMP and Economist government of CANADA are using the Medical Discharge SCAM as a way to cut costs and attempt to get rid of hard working Canadians that they negligently caused harm to. The requirement for independent oversight is no more clearly needed than in this scam.

    RCMP Medical Discharge is the Force version of Speed Dating.

  11. tyugh permalink

    Hi everyone, I have question in regard of VAC pension. What is the likelihood of VAC reducing or discontinuing the pension after the member is medically discharged from the force. I understand that VAC billed the RCMP for the disability pension while the member is still working for them. But once the member is discharged, the RCMP will no longer be paying the member’s disability pension.

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      VAC administers the RCMP disability pensions under contract. The money a member is awarded comes from an RCMP fund set aside and provided for members who qualify for disability pensions. The money you receive prior to discharge and subsequent to discharge comes from the RCMP annual budget, each year the presiding dictator (commish) requests budget increases and reflected in those increases is the provisions of disability pensions. The VAC took over administration of the pensions under contract in 2000. So long as the RCMP is required to, and willing to, you will receive your pension. The only way to lose your pension is if you recover fully from the pensioned condition. The upside of that is that a pensioned condition is always a permanent condition to qualify. So, to sum it up, the farce pays your disability pension but the pension is administered by the VAC. Just as Blue Cross administered the members health care under contract, just as Morneau Shepel administers (for now) our regular pension.

  12. DJ Motorcop permalink

    Update I qualified for CPP disability pension and I receive $1217 a month, taxable benefit. The RCMP in turn clawed back $354 a month from my RCMP pension. There will be no further clawback at age 65. So I receive $23,500 a year from the Moncton pension (Moncton police) and $20,309 a year from the RCMP (after clawback, it had been $24,000) $14,590 a year from CPP disability and then my tax free VAC amount.

    We won the lawsuit and now VAC can not be counted as income when applying for great west life. Based on that information had I applied for a Great West I would get around $800 a month from Great West, sadly I was never advised to apply as I was not afforded any meeting, no package, no contact with a GRW discharge member and when I finally learned of the Great West pension etc it was to late to apply. You must apply prior to actual discharge and up to 30 days after discharge. So the RCMP cost me $9,600 a year in income due to negligence and failure to aid me in the discharge process. Thanks Paulson, you great horses ass.

    • MisinformedMember permalink

      DJMotorcop…i was medically discharged in 2000. At the time I had applied for but was denied CPP disability benefits. My injury was/is medically proven to have been caused directly by my service in the RCMP. I also applied for and was receiving GWL. After applying for and receiving a pension from VAC I was cut off from GWL. I have never been able to return to any employment since. I am 48 years old. I was wondering if you could explain what, other than my service pension and VAC pension, if any, other benefits that I could or should be entitled to receive. I have been looking for answers to this question for some time now and can’t find anyone with any answers. I would greatly appreciate any assistance you may be able to offer. Thanks

      • MisinformedMember permalink

        Sorry…if anyone else knows the answer to these questions feel free to reply!

      • DJ Motorcop permalink

        If you are unable to work you need to re apply for CPP disability, when great west life dropped you it was not right! You should seek legal counsel as you may have been cut off without cause. Not every travesty can be corrected not all wrongs can be put right. I would contact your MP also and voice your dismay at the way you were discarded. The farce does not realize that they are creating an army of a used, disgruntled ill treated ex employees each of us with the intelligence wit and ability to voice our concerns in a very public manner.

  13. tyugh permalink

    Thanks for explaining the VAC pension. What do you mean when you said “as long as the RCMP is required to, and willing to”? Do they have a choice? Is it possible for the RCMP to discontinue the disability pension in order for them to save money?
    My other concern is what kind of tactic management will use to force a full time DTA member to accept a medical discharge?

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      I only added the proviso regarding “required and willing”, as in my opinion, after seeing them orchestrate bill C-42 to relieve themselves of employees who are injured. I would put nothing past them. However any such changes would probably not affect those on the pension. Remember the military got rid of disability pensions and went straight to lump sum payments. Those on DTA will undoubtedly face many hurdles all designed to meet the needs of the force forced transfers, change of duty subtle job positioning to erode your sense of worth. The beast has awakened with the granting of bill C-42 has only whetted it’s appetite!

    • As a constable in 1997, the Force forced me to quit because i had and still have hearing loss. I applied for Cpp Disability and was denied. It was never mentioned to applied for Great west disability pension. in short, I was discriminated against because , oh yeah, a disability in canada. I’m in to get my money back. I will be going to newspapers with my case.

  14. tyugh permalink

    I have been told that if I refused any “reasonable offer”, it is a automatic medical discharge. Their definition of “reasonable offer” is probably different from mine.
    What is the criteria to apply for GWL disability? Do I have to pay the GWL premium in order to apply for the disability insurance? I was under the impression that GWL deduction in my paycheque is for life insurance, not for disability insurance. Do I just use the same medical report for VAC or my doctor have to write a new one?

  15. DJ Motorcop permalink

    You need to apply to great west separately they are a stand alone service, the gov of Canada paid the premiums so their payments are taxable. All serving members are covered by great west. The doctor has to fill out their forms they will top up to 75% of your base salary after they factor in your pension and your COP disability payments.

  16. tyugh permalink

    Hi DJ Motorcop, I really appreciating you for sharing the info with me as I am not comfortable talking to those medical discharge people.I have been doing some research on the internet. I was under the impression that CPP disability will have a lot more clawback than just $354 from the RCMP pension. Do you know exactly how they calculate the clawback?

    The second question the 75% limit set by GWL. Is it including the VAC pension? Since the VAC pension is tax free, it is actually worth more than the face value. $15k per year actually worth $18k per year or more depending on the total income. Are they just taking the VAC pension on face value?

    I cut and paste part of the discussion in the House of Commons Committees and provided the link below. It seems to me there is a lot of clawback on the RCMP pension once the CPP disability is approved.

    ****************************************************************************************************************
    http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=4409725&Language=E&Mode=1

    “Mr. Peter Stoffer:
    Thank you.
    I know that I’ve mentioned this to you once before, but I just want to give you the scenario of what we’ve heard in our committee about Roddie O’Handley, an RCMP veteran who was disabled out of the RCMP. He received 64% of his annuity. Because he is entitled to 75%, Great-West Life topped it up by 11% for two years. At the end of those two years, Great-West Life stopped their payment and he was told that he had to apply for Canada Pension Plan disability benefits, which he did and he received.

    But he got it in a lump sum, because it’s retroactive to the day he left the RCMP. The first call he got after he got the cheque was from the RCMP annuity branch, which was saying that he owed them over $11,000 because of the benefit reduction. The second call he got was from Great-West Life, which said, “That 11% top-up? You owe us back all that money.” It cost him a couple of thousand more than he actually received from CPP. For being disabled out of the RCMP, he actually lost money.

    Then, what he didn’t realize—it was probably somewhere in a book he received, but he didn’t read it—was that when he turns 65, the Canada Pension Plan disability stops, and he goes on a lower CPP amount, which is deducted from his annuity. So he loses money once again. “

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      Tyugh,
      My reduction of 354 a month is based on 14 years RCMP service, the amount of clawback is based in a formula you can find on the CPP website. I had 22 years prior service with another police force, for which I get a stacked pension with no flaw backs. To get the top up from Great West your VAC is not included but they do count CPP disability, if you are off work apply now for CPP disability prior to pensioning out on a medical. It saves a lot of payback!

  17. tyugh permalink

    Last question…if a member is qualified for the GWL disability, is that 75% limit go up every year due to inflation and wage increase?

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      Your RCMP pension and CPP will be increased with the cola each year but great west only has to pay you the difference between that and 75% of your wages based on the last day you worked. The amount GWL pays will decrease as your other pensions increase. Bear in mind there are members whose pension and CPP combined exceed or meet the 75% and in that case GWL pays you nothing. VAC is not counted, not taxable and also is subject to yearly increases due to cola. Cost of living allowance

  18. DJ Motorcop permalink

    The claw back I mention only happens once from your pension, if you go on cop disability you are subject to the claw back, if you do not go on CPP disability then you do not have your CPP disability clawed back until you reach age 65. The example you listed from the parliamentary debate incorrectly indicates that you are subject to claw back twice, this is. Not true, once you are clawed back then your RCMP pension will never be reduced again.

  19. tyugh permalink

    I just thought of this question the other day. What is the criteria for management to determine a medical discharge? Is it based on medical profile? I ‘ve heard that if a medical profile of O4 to O6 is assigned to a member, it would be considered to be a medical discharge? I know there are members with a medical profile of O6 but they are DTA. I looked up policy and it states that O6 is not employable by the RCMP in any capacity.

    • DJ Motorcop permalink

      Good question and one the SSR should be able to answer if they could figure it out! It may appear they are trying circumvent DTA with bill C-42 I for see discharges increasing and soon the force will be even shorter of staff.

  20. tyugh permalink

    I don’t trust those SSR as I have a very negative experience with them. Thanks for explaining the medical discharge process to me.

  21. Anonymous permalink

    I am on a medical discharge since 2012, medical profile 06 (Not employable by the RCMP in any capacity). I had 30yrs of service combine with CF. I had a to do list with no help when I retired. Suffering from PTSD still to this day on a 3rd appeal with VAC to boot. I applied to GWL, CPPD, DTC. I have receive all my disability benefits no problem. But GWL after 2 years decided to drop me telling me I was fit to go back to work!!!! You heard me right….I was very disturb at the fact I am unfit and declared so by my Employer RCMP and GWL took on this step. It was understood they were to cover up to 65% of my salary for 2 years and drop to 50% on after. What is it to be harass by GWL to return to work and on every 3 months for your status when it is state Incapacitated to work. Since I was in no good state of mind at the time left it alone. I just sent them a beautiful letter stating I will take on legal avenue if not re instated. What is it also that RCMP Pension offset your CPPD that I agree but GWL Offset your CPPD again and your VAC. I have push this further with some help. Being investigated as we speak…..

    To GWL: Dear Sir or madam,

    The purpose of this letter is to address serious concerns I have on the ending of my LTD payments.

    I am greatly concerned about the fact that GWL & the RCMP may have entered into a LTD policy in direct violation of statutory law, namely the GCR’s passed under the FAA. This creates a real possibility that the policy is void & unenforceable in law for offsets. If so it violates the “Utmost Good Faith” rule for insurance as well as black letter law. Trying to defend ending my benefits in this light is problematic at best and might result in a “bad faith” lawsuit resulting in substantial punitive damages.

    Another very serious concern is that GWL, as administrator of the LTD policy, is that the decision to end my LTD benefits was based on your assessment that I am not disable enough to be off work. I would remind GWL that employers expect people to work regularly. My conditions make it unlikely that I will be able to attend work regularly. In fact, I was assessed as O6 by the RCMP on 14SEP11 where it was stated, “NOT FIT FOR DUTY IN ANY CAPACITY FOR THE FORSEEABLE FUTURE.” The RCMP is the Insurer, their determination overrules GWL.

    I was approved by Canada Pension Plan(Disability). The CPP(D) disability definition is quite strict and it usually means a worker will not work again. Therefore your comments about my working in a “File Data Clerk” has the following issues:

    It is moot given CPP(D) has been approved post ex facto.
    It is trenching on the operational decisions of the RCMP.

    Your letter mentioned my travelling & living. It shows a distressing lack of understanding about the nature of disability. See the quote below. Totally disabled does not mean unable to function, it means not able to work so that you can either get better or stay alive. The fact that you don’t know this brings up negligence or gross negligence if I decide to purse legal action.

    In Couch on Insurance (1983), 2d (Rev. ed.) §53:118 there is the following relevant paragraph:

    The test of total disability is satisfied when the circumstances are such that a reasonable man would recognize that he should not engage in certain activity even though he literally is not physically unable to do so. In other words, total disability does not mean absolute physical inability to transact any kind of business pertaining to one’s occupation, but rather that there is a total disability if the insured’s injuries are such that common care and prudence require him to desist from his business or occupation in order to effectuate a cure; hence, if the condition of the insured is such that in order to effect a cure or prolongation of life, common care and prudence will require that he cease all work, he is totally disabled within the meaning of health or accident insurance policies.

    With these facts in mind, I demand an immediate resumption of my LTD benefits, retroactive of course and with interest. In effect, the benefits should not have been stopped in the1st place and you are now placed on notice that I wish my property returned to me within 20 days. I bring this up as a case for Criminal Code charges might be made out here for fraud (CC s.380) or refusal to delivery property (CC . 337).

    As the policy appears prima facie void ab initio, do not try and enforce the illegal offset clauses (Bradburn Principle established 1875) as LTD is non-indemnity insurance with no right to offset OR if there is a right, only to be used when I have been fully indemnified.

    • I am so glad I did not hook up with GWL it would not have been worth the small amount they would have paid me. I was ill advised by the RCMP at the time of my medical discharge in 2012 I was told I would not get GWL because I was getting VAC, I was not told to apply for CPPD, (I did in 2014 and was awarded it) I was not told about the CRA disability tax credit ( I applied in 2015 and was awarded it and was able to go back to 2007 and was refunded $15, 000) in short the RCMP is in such a hurry to discharge members that they concentrate on harassment and aggravating phone calls, yet no one in the entire staffing regime takes the time to sit down and find out what benefits a discharged member should have in place prior to discharge. You can draw CPPD while still on the payroll so long as you are unable to work. You can also be getting the CRA disability tax credit while still on the payroll. The inept bungling and their carrot on the stick with the lame GWL policy sucks a member into a discharge thinking they are financially secure and then two years later boom, they drop the hammer and you are left in a poor financial state. This smoke and mirror system is old and tired, like Paulson’s statement that in Codiac hard body armour and the carbines were available, yes 150 miles away on a training course under lock and key. Available but not accessible typical manipulation of facts, from the man with a twisted mind and a twisted forked tongue.

      • Anonymous permalink

        Like I said a friend of mine just open this can of worms..Ex military also worked for CRA and very well knowledge on insurer and Law…He is defying them all as we speak brought this to MP’s…Seriously all GWL/Manulife/Sisip/Sunlife…. I have a to do list here but in jpg that he had posted….I could share this with you all if I could see the apps for jpg….very interesting….. It is being investigate as we speak ….it is way bigger than we think….It smell like fraud…

  22. memberfornow permalink

    I’m glad I stumbled on this post while desperately searching the web for some guidance regarding ODS/ medical discharge process.

    I have about five years of service and was recently injured on the job. As a result of the injury and after several surgeries, I have permanently lost a good portion of the functionality of my arm.
    I know very little about the ODS process and the options for being medically discharged. I recently applied for a VA pension and haven’t heard anything back yet.

    Although the prospect of being medically discharged at this stage of my career is a gloomy scenario, I’m not deluding myself and am aware that the force wouldn’t hesitate to get rid of me as soon as convenient. Given this, I want to be prepared for the worst case scenario as I’m financially responsible for my family.

    I’m not too familiar with the VA pension benefits such as how much they may compensate me and for how long. And this is the first time I hear about Great West Insurance.

    I haven’t spoken to a lawyer or anyone else regarding this and I would greatly appreciate any information and advice about what I should be doing at this stage of the game.

    Thanks in advance…

  23. annonymous permalink

    Dear Memberfornow:

    Yes, you are absolutely correct that they won’t hesitate in trying to dismiss you. Please contact MPPAC @ 1-778-808-0304. The member who answers will assist you.

Comment:

