Skip to content

RCMP Garbage?

Nov 28

Thank you for sharing your story Anon. I myself am a member for over 16 years and know first hand what you speak of. I LOVED my job. I was proud to serve our country. I wanted to be a police officer with the RCMP since I was an eight year old girl. It was my dream. Sadly though, not long after my career began I felt the wrath of bullying and harassment that shook me to the core. I too was told while I was in training (depot) that the RCMP was my family. Not so. I was a hard worker and it is noted on my annual assessments. I was told that I was a dependable, reliable member. I love helping people. But I began to quickly hate the way my employer treated me. “Do as I say, not as I do”. That’s not how I was brought up. I can no longer work for this organization because I do not believe in how they do “business”. That is not what I stand for. This is a very sad time for me to come to this realization of shattered dreams. I gave my all but got nothing in return. Sure, I got paid…but I also got very sick from working in that environment and I am still very sick. My health is more important to me than any job. I almost died from the toll this took on me. The bullying and harassment I have endured over the years has left me feeling bitter, angry and empty. My employer didn’t care about me. They threw me out like a dirty rag. I am so disappointed and hurt that our National police force has left me with these scars. So sad that there are many many others just like me.
Our employer needs to remember that this job is tough enough without them making it more miserable. I have been in dangerous situations where there was no radio coverage in the area where I attended a call and unexpectedly the situation escalated. The suspect had a loaded shotgun, was suicidal and had just been involved in a domestic assault. I had to arrest the suspect on my own out in the middle of nowhere…no one from my office knew what was going on as I could not contact them to call for backup. After dealing with this very scary incident I advised my supervisor of the situation. Nothing was said and no changes were made. Yet when I developed PTSD a few years later I began using alcohol to cope. My employer was aware of the signs I displayed yet they refused to get me the help I needed. All they cared was that I keep on working, fulfilling the shift requirements for manpower. They hate when a member is off sick….even for one day. You get chastized for calling in sick for one day. It happened to me. So I continued working in an environment that was making me more sick. Next thing I know I am drinking even more to cope with the severe PTSD which I didn’t even know I had at the time because the RCMP does not mention to us what PTSD is. They do not acknowledge it. Needless to say I ended up getting in a lot of trouble because of my inability to cope with PTSD. Now I am no good to the force and I am being prosecuted for it. I have been going through this process for almost three years now. My life is on hold, and the RCMP are no where in sight. They do not call to see how I am…they don’t care. I am blacklisted now. I am a black mark on the reputation of the force. I sit at home every day, by myself…I am alone and waiting for this nightmare to be over. I know of others just like me who have experienced similar treatment. It’s a sad day when our employer, whom we trusted to care for us throws us out like garbage.

JAVA

5 Comments
  1. Jamieson Hanlon permalink

    JAVA, like you, I dreamed of a career in the RCMP for a long time. I would dare not say you were fortunate to have a career, at least not like the one you seem to have had. I didn’t even get past the post. I was shit on, spit up and tossed out. I played the game they asked me to play, and they were pissed off that I won. So, they made sure my career ended before it even began. We share a pathology in PTSD. My experience with the Force left me sad, angry and depressed. It made me a very caustic person in some ways. It wreaked havoc in my personal life. Once I left Depot, I was damaged but forced to work to survive. The effects showed in some very unfavourable ways at work. Funny how when a dog is beaten, even the slightest raise of the hand can make it cringe – so, too, does harassment work for people like us. Like you, I didn’t know what I had; it was far worse than the diagnosis of ‘depression’ that I got. Happy pills did not do much to cut through the issues I faced. I used alcohol and other bad habits (none illegal, might I add) to self-medicate. Despite the Force kicking me in the balls in training and again on appeal, despite the slagging I have faced at the hands of known and anonymous members who claim to “know” me (or my type), I still burn to wear the uniform, to go forward and make a difference in that career. It’ll never happen for me now. And it burns me to see good people forced out and crap held in for as long optically possible.

    Now, while I am still all these years later forced to deal with the poostorm that the Force made of my life by its treatment of me, I am doing something to try to work through it: I’m being vocal. Publicly. My experience and my voice may not count for much from members who have gone through the wringer with the org, but I’ll keep adding my voice to push for top-to-bottom organizational restructuring.
    If you ever need to chat/ vent, it’s not too hard to find me in the ‘real world,’ confidentiality is assured.

    Jamie

    • Anonymous permalink

      …Thank you so much Jamie. I find it is necessary to speak up and tell our stories in order to heal. It is so helpful to have the understanding of others who have been there and KNOW how this feels. When we are continually beat down, controlled and intimidated with nowhere to turn for relief. This sort of treatment creates a burning anger inside that leaves us bitter to the core. No wonder you took your anger with you…it doesn’t just ‘go away’. People like us need justice and vindication in order to move forward. I feel like I am in a box and I can’t move forward…I feel trapped.

      I wonder if you have signed up to be involved in the class action harassment lawsuit? If not, it’s not too late. I am part of an active group of members (past and present) who are very involved with the lawsuit and we have our own online support group. We share experiences and information on topics like various RCMP procedures (medical discharge, pensions, etc) and Veterans Affairs, Canadian Human Rights Commission, the class action lawsuit, etc. We have excellent media connections with the Globe and Mail, Fifth Estate, etc. And you are right, being vocal about this is the best way to make people wake up and realize there is a problem. Before this, members were too scared to say anything. Now we have nothing to lose.
      Thanks again for your kind words of support. It certainly feels better to know I am not alone. I hope you know you are by no means alone either.

  2. Jamieson Hanlon permalink

    I will be honest and say I felt alone for a long time. 13 years ago, or even 10 years ago, judgments were passed on me because of what happened to me. The RCMP was a noble org in the public’s eyes. So, it was falsely believed by many that something was wrong with me. I lost friends, I found it difficult to find confidence in myself or in my employers. I had a shitty string of jobs. I went through a number of failed relationships. I started to feel like the social misfit that my troopmates, facilitator and other conspirators made me out to be at Depot.

    I set up an anonymous diary-blog in part to reconcile my feelings publicly and in part to let others know of the damage the org was willing to inflict on their own. As Mike said in yesterday’s post, we meet a suitability standard before we get in. I was made to go an extra mile to prove my suitability. I was beaten down to a pulp by the system. And no one gave a shit. Since then, I’ve been maligned by the org, I have been painted as many things I am not by them. They have done quite a bit to marginalize and discredit me. And it has worked well for them.

    As for the class-action, I have talked to a number of lawyers over the years, including one I was told was handling a class-action suit for male members. I guess because of the time since the mobbing occurred and perhaps because I never made it out of Depot, I was ruled ineligible… or told to go elsewhere… same thing, really. I know that one cadet who took the Force to fed court and got a seven-figure settlement spent less time at Depot, went through less shit and took a lot less abuse than I did.

    Now, I seek out others like me – people whose careers were unfairly halted/ ruined before they began. I’ll fight to have all voices listened to, even if it costs me personally. They cannot take any more from me than they already have. As you said, I need some vindication. I’m working on that. But, I’m also making sure that people have the ear/ shoulder that never had all those years. Love to hear about the online support group… ask Mike for my personal email. I don’t mind…

  3. Gary permalink

    Not everyone is cut out to be in the RCMP. Maybe you should all accept that and get on with your lives.

  4. Jamieson Hanlon permalink

    Really, Gary? You are right, they are not. And many of them are in uniform… some of them are in leadership positions. Some of them demonstrate criminal behaviour and commit crim code offenses. Others are just lazy, offensive and generally abusive folk. Yet you continue to pay their salaries and seem not to mind that small issue.

    So, assuming you are not a member, not sure what area or level of organizational leadership/personnel management/ workplace harassment expertise you are able to speak from or what inner knowledge of our cases you may have as to make such a sweeping judgment, esp given the way the org treated us and dealt with us?

    Platitudes like yours are cheap… and they can be boiled down to one quick analysis: it is your opinion. And you know what they say about opinions…

    Thanks for sharing; guess you had nothing else useful to do on Mother’s Day?.

Comment:

